Sacramento DUI Lawyer Explains Auto Accidents & Driving Under The Influence
California DUI laws are pretty strict and getting arrested for one, can be a very complicated situation to handle, but being involved in a car accident while driving under the influence, can exacerbate the situation. Every year, over 30,000 Californians are injured in DUI vehicle accidents and over 2,000 deaths occur because of it. Although there are many penalties that you could suffer, especially if under the age of 21, if you were charged with a DUI, you must contact an experienced Sacramento DUI lawyer who understands how to navigate through such a situation.
California DUI Convictions
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs can have various punishments depending on the different factors. For a first time DUI conviction, the usual consequences can be a combination of the following:
- Probation for 3 years
- 48 hours or more of county jail
- Fines up to $2,000
- License suspension/restriction
- Alcohol education classes
If you’ve had previous convictions or had BAC of more than .15% the punishments increase dramatically. Although most DUI convictions are considered misdemeanors, any DUI with an injury can be charged as a felony! But it’s important to keep in mind that even if you have been arrested, it does not mean that you are necessarily guilty. If you are someone you know has been convicted of a DUI, it’s important to consult with a skilled Sacramento DUI lawyer to fight hard against your charges.
Circumstances that make the severity of the crime much worse, such as reckless driving, excessive speeding or causing injuries or property damage, are known as aggravating factors and it typically results in a harsher sentencing. If you cause an accident that results in bodily injury on somebody beside yourself, you will be facing a minimum of 5 days in jail and one year license suspension. If the injuries are serious, not only could you be charged with felony DUI but could face state prison sentence of 16 months. Because there are so many complex factors in DUI convictions, it is vital you contact a Sacramento DUI lawyer to get informed about what you can do.
What to do After a DUI Influenced Auto Accident
The first thing you should always do after any type of accident, is ensure everyone involved seeks medical attention if needed. California law requires you to take a breath test or blood alcohol test immediately after your arrest. Should you choose to not cooperate, you will have your driver’s license suspended. The most important thing you should take into consideration is what you say to the police officer. By law, you are not required to answer the officer’s questions about your eating and drinking of the night. In fact, anything you say can and will be used against you so the best thing you can do to mitigate the situation is to contact a skilled Sacramento DUI lawyer who has the resources and experiences to handle your situation.
After being charged with a DUI, you will face two separate legal proceedings:
- A DMV hearing to go over your driver’s licenses suspension
- A court hearing to go over criminal proceedings and charges
It’s crucial that you contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest or else your license will automatically be suspended. It’s also crucial you contact a Sacramento DUI lawyer for legal help immediately.
Contact a Sacramento DUI Lawyer if You’ve Been Convicted of Driving Under the Influence
With over 25 years of experience, Richard Chan has the experience and effective strategy you need to mitigate your DUI conviction. Driving under the influence is a serious crime in California but there are legal defenses you can take depending on your situation. Call (916) 446-4400 to speak to a Sacramento DUI lawyer today.